Hindsight

There was never a moment when I thought

You would hurt me

Which makes me feel like my brain was missing

When I look back

The same flashes in my mind spinning like a zoetrope

I forgot to think

I forgot how to think

Because my mind was full of you

And how you made me feel

Nearly every waking moment

Nobody knows what is inside the minds of others

No matter how close we feel to them

We don’t know what’s inside ourselves

And you didn’t believe we should be together

You told me that

I didn’t listen because that wasn’t what I wanted to hear

I made myself blind, deaf to reality

And constructed a cocoon in which I wrapped myself

Unwilling to face the world without you

Because at times you made me feel

Like I deserved to be happy.

Leave a Reply

